A Helena Halloween

This Halloween I did my best to replicate the dress worn by dancer Tracy Phillips in My Chemical Romance’s music video for “Helena”. Originally I wanted to wear it to their concert in the middle of September, but due to the cold weather I decided to save it for Halloween.

The fabric for the dress originated from a few articles of clothing purchased at a Goodwill store. I bought a black dress a few sizes larger than usual and just kept taking it in and sewing it until its shape resembled Helena’s black dress. Then I added the bright red fabric underneath, the black fluff near the dress’s top, and finally the black netting for the lowest layer. Since it was originally designed to survive a rock concert, I shortened it compared to the real dress to prevent anyone from accidentally stepping or catching anything on it.

Posted on December 15, 2011, in DA's News, Random News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

