SUCCESS!

This is the first of probably two posts for this week. The second will pertain to my excitement towards my family’s yearly trip to the beach. This current post also follows a tradition, a somewhat recent habit reoccurring around the last week of July since the last three years. It involves the fate of my county fair entries for the coming August, previously disappointing for the last three years.

A little over three years ago I dreamed of entering Adam, my Quarter Horse, in the local county fair. Unfortunately my desire was nearly impossible considering we don’t have a trailer or any equestrian friends willing to haul for me. On top of that it has been only myself making plans for showing since neither of my parents are interested in horses. A person would probably think “So this has been going on for three years, right? What makes you think this year will be any different? You still have the same problems, right? What’s going to change that?”

Well, those results stopped here. Now. Why? Yesterday afternoon I walked out of my veterinarian’s office holding Adam’s Certificate of Veterinary Inspection (mandatory for all animals transported to shows). On the way home I finished filling out my registration papers and wrote a reminder to make a copy of the certificate at work the next day.

Yes, I am finally entering Adam in this year’s county fair and horse show.

My registration is ready to be submitted and Adam is well conditioned to make a 5-6 mile ride to the fairgrounds. I haven’t felt this ecstatic in a LONG while! Over time I learned to stop listening to everyone else’s whiny criticism and follow whatever I think works.* It’s about time, too! I have a gorgeous steampunk-themed western show bridle designed back in the spring that I can’t wait to use in the ring! The show is in exactly 31 days from today. Adam and I will most likely start our show career by riding in the western walk/trot class. There is a lot of preparation going into the fair this year and I feel extremely excited!

-DA Agelle

*I am fairly sure the term for that is “irritatingly stubborn” or “shows obsessive determination”.

Posted on July 19, 2011, in DA's News, Horses and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Best of luck to you and Adam! I know you’ve waited for this for a long time! :) Have a safe ride to & from the fairgrounds, and enjoy the fair win or lose!

    ~Dorilan~

  2. :D We’re super excited! I hope you have fun riding Koda too (and keeping him away from that gate, haha!) Sometime in the fall we HAVE to go riding together!

Leave a Reply

